Skip to content

CSA and Dinner Menu

September 16, 2010

I made it through week one of my new grocery routine!  And to top it all off, I only needed to purchase $20 worth of groceries on top of my CSA box.  I definitely feel encouraged to keep going.  Let’s look at this week’s bounty.

Apologies for the sloppy pile, my son and I were both starving when I brought these home.  In fact, I think leftovers were in the microwave as I frantically snapped a shot and stored these away.

Anyway, this week we have red leaf lettuce, red beets, cauliflower, carrots, parsley, summer squash, padron peppers, tomatoes and strawberries.  I was relieved to read that padron peppers are actually sweet, not spicy.  It seems rather convenient to have these small, seedless sweet peppers.

I have a couple of challenges this week.  Not only to use up all my veggies, but to start plowing through my freezer too.  My deep freeze is mostly empty in anticipation of the split quarter of beef I will soon be receiving.  The refrigerator freezer is another story.  It’s the kind of full where if you open it, things fall out.  Not good.

I’m hoping to use up some bread, fish, chicken and tomato puree from the freezer this week.

Thursday: Beans with Pesto Bulgur.  Side of roasted beet slices in mustard cream sauce.

Saturday: Pork and Veggie BBQ Skewers. Uses padron peppers & summer squash (plus store-bought onions, mushrooms and pineapple).

Sunday: Marinated Swordfish.  Side of steamed cauliflower and quinoa.

Monday: French Bread Pizza.  Side of buttered beet greens

Tue & Wed: Spicy Chicken Rice Bake.  Makes great leftovers because the rice & veggies taste better the second day.

Hopefully I can work some baking into the week as well.  I’m purchasing some buttermilk just so I have to motivation to use it up.  Maybe I’ll finally get to make that spicy corn bread that I was supposed to bake last week.  My red peppers are begging to be used.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2014 3:31 am

    It’s hard to find your blog in google. I found it on 13 spot, you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to increase traffic.
    I know how to help you, just search in google – k2 seo tips

  2. August 23, 2014 9:42 pm

    I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably
    you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online
    tool that creates unique, SEO friendly articles in minutes, just search in google – laranitas free content source

  3. September 12, 2014 12:29 am

    I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you
    spend a lot of time writing, i know how to
    save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates unique,
    SEO friendly posts in seconds, just search in google
    – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

